APRN Compact

South Dakota is a member of the Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) Compact after adoption by the South Dakota legislature in 2024.

The compact allows qualified APRNs (CNMs, CNPs, CRNAs, & CNSs) to hold one multistate license and to use the license to practice in other APRN Compact states.

The compact is not in effect; after seven states have joined it will then be implemented. Currently, Deleware, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Utah are member states. After three more states join the APRN Compact will be implemented. 

Page Updated: 3/26/2024 6:01:40 PM